Cleveland declares snow parking ban

Cleveland -  The City of Cleveland has banned parking on city streets during this weekend's snow storm.

Public Safety Director Michael McGrath issued a statement Saturday afternoon outlining the importance of keeping cars off streets in weather like this:

"(S)topping, standing, and parking of vehicles will be restricted and prohibited on City streets with posted red and white signs UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE.  

Parking is prohibited on designated Snow Emergency streets, which are identified as necessary for transportation, the movement of food and fuel supplies, medical care, fire, health and police protection and other vital facilities of the City.  

Significant snowfall can cause streets to become congested and un-passable. 

Vehicles left parked in the roadway prevent snowplows from clearing streets, which can make driving down these streets impossible. 

The resultant bottlenecks and gridlock can hamper response by emergency vehicles. 

For this reason, citizens are encouraged to avoid parking vehicles on all city streets to allow snow plows sufficient time to remove snow and ice from the roads. "

Snow parking bans are in effect in other communities as well including:

Akron: In effect for main city streets and residential streets until further notice

- Bay Village: Takes effect when 2 inches of snow within 24 hours

- Beachwood: In effect until further notice

- Brooklyn: In effect until further notice

- Brunswick: In effect until 4:12 p.m. Sunday

- Brunswick Hills: In effect until further notice

- Cleveland: In effect Saturday until further notice

- Hinckley Township: In effect from 12 p.m. Saturday through 6 a.m. Monday

- Hudson: In effect from 10 a.m. Saturday through 5 p.m. Sunday

- Lake Township: In effect Friday at midnight until noon Monday

- Lorain: Midnight Saturday until further notice

- Maple Heights: Noon Saturday until further notice

- Newburgh Heights: In effect 10 a.m. Saturday until further notice

- North Olmsted: In effect 5 p.m. Friday until noon Monday

- North Royalton: In effect until further notice

- Parma: In effect 1 p.m. Saturday until further notice

- Ravenna: In effect 6 a.m. Saturday until noon Sunday

- Rocky River: In effect when two inches of snow fall during a 24-hour period. The ban is lifted once all side streets are plowed and snow accumulation has ceased.

- Sagamore Hills: In effect from 6 a.m. Saturday until midnight Tuesday.

- Stow: In effect from 9 a.m. Saturday until 9 a.m. Monday

- Tallmadge: In effect 6 a.m. Saturday until 6 p.m. Monday

- Vermilion: In effect until further notice

- Wadsworth: In effect until further notice

- Waynesburg: In effect from 6 p.m. Friday until noon Tuesday

Copyright 2019 iHeartMedia.  All Rights Reserved.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content