Northeast Ohio colleges sign Consortium Agreement

Alex Johnson, Tri-C president

(Cleveland) - Presidents from nine public colleges and universities in Northeast Ohio gathered today to sign a Consortium Agreement to improve and strengthen educational offerings, provide collaborative pathways to degrees and support the region’s workforce.

Tri-C President Alex Johnson says they are looking at ending duplicate courses, making it easier for students to earn certificates with their degrees, and allowing students to take courses at other institutions at o extra cost, if not offered at their home college. 

The agreement, known as the Northeast Ohio Regional Higher Education Compact, is comprised of Cleveland State University, Cuyahoga Community College, Kent State University, Lakeland Community College, Lorain County Community College, Northeast Ohio Medical University, Stark State College, the University of Akron and Youngstown State University.

Johnson tells Newsradio WTAM 1100, the compact strives to create pathways from K-12 to higher education while lowering the overall cost of pursuing a degree in the Northeast Ohio region through high-quality educational offerings.Presidents from the institutions met at Cuyahoga Community College’s Jerry Sue Thornton Center today, for the official signing of the agreement.

(Photos by Ken Robinson/WTAM)

© 2018 iHeartMedia, Inc.

Hear news updates at the top and bottom of the hour:

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content