Finalists Announced For 22nd Greater Cleveland Sports Awards

CLEVELAND - The Greater Cleveland Sports Commission announced the finalists for the 22nd Greater Cleveland Sports Awards which will be held on Wednesday, March 23rd at Rocket Mortgage FieldHouse. WTAM's Mike Snyder and Greg Brinda will be broadcasting back stage and will have interviews with all the winners and presenters.

Finalists were selected by local sports and media outlets as well as an awards committee who chose outstanding athletes from Northeast Ohio’s following counties: Ashtabula, Cuyahoga, Geauga, Lake, Lorain, Medina, Portage, Stark and Summit. 

The finalists were were based on the highest number of votes: male and female high school athlete of the year, male and female collegiate athlete of the year and professional athlete of the year.

Male High School Athlete of the Year

Drew Allar, Medina High School, Football

Tommy Bebie, Rocky River High School, Football

Danny Young Jr., Shaker Heights High School, Basketball

Female High School Athlete of the Year

Kathryn Randorf, Gilmour Academy, Volleyball

Lanae Riley, Archbishop Hoban, Basketball

Alayna Tessena, Highland High School, Volleyball

Male Collegiate Athlete of the Year

Dustin Crum, Kent State University, Football (Midview High School)

Marreon Jackson, Arizona State University, Basketball (Garfield Heights High School)

Alex Phillip, John Carroll University, Cross Country (St. Vincent - St. Mary High School)

Female Collegiate Athlete of the Year

Adelaide Aquilla, The Ohio State University, Track & Field (Magnificat High School)

Dayna Denner, University of Toledo, Softball (Cuyahoga Heights High School)

Julia Walz, Bowling Green State University, Volleyball (Brooklyn High School)

Professional Athlete of the Year

Darius Garland, Cleveland Cavaliers, Guard

Myles Garrett, Cleveland Browns, Defensive End

Jose Ramirez, Cleveland Guardians, Third Baseman

The Sports Awards is the premier annual sports fundraiser that supports the Greater Cleveland Sports Commission and celebrates a year of athletic achievements in Northeast Ohio from high school stars to professional athletes. This year, it will be hosted by Maria Taylor and is back live after being virtual last year due to COVID-19.

Hear news updates at the top and bottom of the hour: HERE

© 2022 iHeartMedia, Inc.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content