Bieber Is The Indians 5th Cy Young Award Winner Since 2007

Indians logo

CLEVELAND - Shane Bieber was unanimously named the 2020 American League Cy Young Wednesday by the Baseball Writers Association of America. It marks the 10th time an American League pitcher has been an unanimous choice for the award and the first since Johan Santana in 2006.

The 25-year-old is the fifth and youngest pitcher in club history to win the league's most prestigious pitching honor. Bieber's historic season saw him go 8-1 with a 1.63 ERA and 122 strikeouts in 12 starts in 2020, becoming the first pitcher since 2006 to win MLB's pitching Triple Crown, leading the Majors in wins, strikeouts and ERA.

Bieber joins Corey Kluber (2014 & 2017), Cliff Lee (2008), CC Sabathia (2007) and Gaylord Perry (1972) as other Cleveland Indians pitchers to garner the award.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content