College Football Playoff to Expand to 12 Teams, Beginning in 2024

National Championship - Oregon v Ohio State

Photo: Getty Images

IRVING, Texas (WTVN)--The College Football Playoff will expand to include 12 teams, beginning after the 2024 season.

The announcement Thursday came after officials with the Rose Bowl agreed to new deals to be part of the expanded field.

The new deal will be at least for the 2024 and 2025 seasons, with the top-4 seeds getting first-round byes, and the lower 8 seeds playing for a spot in the quarterfinals.

The first round of the new playoff will take place the week ending December 21st in 2024, at either the home field of the higher seeded team or at another site chosen by the higher seeded school. For the first two seasons of the expanded playoff, the four quarterfinal games and the two semifinal games will be played in bowls on a rotating basis.

The national championship games will be played January 20th, 2025 in Atlanta, and on January 19th, 2026 in Miami.

The College Football Playoff began after the 2014 season, and replaced the Bowl Championship Series, which was previously used to determine College Football's National Champion. Ohio State won the first ever College Football Playoff National Championship.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content