Browns' Stefanski Named AP Coach of the Year

(Cleveland) - Call it a hat trick, call it a trifecta. Browns head coach Kevin Stefanski has won all three of the major NFL Coach of the Year Awards, being named as the Associated Press NFL Coach of the Year Saturday night. Stefanski had already won the same awards from The Sporting News, and the Football Writers Association of America.

Stefanski was named on 25 of the AP's 50 ballots. Buffalo Bills coach Sean McDermott got seven votes, while Miami coach Brian Flores had six votes.

This was a year in which NFL teams had no preseason games, and a lot of players and coaches having to sit out games due to COVID-19. Stefanski, in his rookie year, managed to overcome all that, and have his team finish at 11-5, and make it to the second round of the postseason. The Browns haven't had this kind of season since 1994. It was just three seasons ago the Browns finished with an abysmal 0-16 record.

While Stefanski was honored during the NFL Honors show on CBS, no such honor for former Browns linebacker Clay Matthews, Jr. Matthews was a finalist for the Pro Football Hall of Fame, but didn't make the final cut. There will be eight inductees in Canton this summer, led by quarterback Peyton Manning.

(Photo by Jason Miller, Getty Images)

(Copyright 2021, iHeartMedia)

Listen to WTAM for local news at the top and bottom of the hour.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content