2019 Greater Cleveland Sports Awards Winners And More

CLEVELAND – The 19th Greater Cleveland Sports Awards presented by Medical Mutual and Huntington Bank honored the best of Cleveland sports on Wednesday, Feb. 6th at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel Grand Ballroom in Downtown Cleveland. Hannah Storm, ESPN anchor and award-winning journalist, led an iconic night in Cleveland sports to a sold-out crowd of over 1,200 guests.

Highlights from tonight’s show include Larry Nance Jr. and Larry Nance Sr.,Cleveland Cavaliers father and son duo who jointly presented The University of Akron Men’s Soccer Team and Rachel Bender, Male & Female Collegiate Athlete of the Year Award.

Following an appearance from former Cleveland Indians, Mike Hargrove and Carlos Baerga, the 1990s legends reunited to present Sandy Alomar Jr. with the 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award presented by Cuyahoga Community College.

Additionally, Storm conducted a heartfelt interview on stage with Sophia Pecjak, Cleveland Clinic Sports Health Courage Award recipient.

Baker Mayfield,Cleveland Browns quarterback, received Professional Athlete of the Year presented by FOX Sports Ohio where honors were given by former NFL quarterbacks Bernie Kosar and Paul McDonald.

The culmination of the night was highlighted with the 2018 Best Moment in Cleveland Sports presented by JACK Cleveland Casino was awarded to John Dorsey, Cleveland Browns general manager, for A Browns Breakthrough, which was presented by Jim Donovan, the voice of the Browns.

Winners from each category were announced live at the event. Each award recipient is highlighted under their respective category.

Male High School Athlete of the Year -

Michael Boehm , Lacrosse, St. Ignatius High School, Cleveland

Malvin Gblah , Soccer, Lakewood High School, Lakewood - Winner

Noah Potter , Football, Mentor High School, Mentor

Female High School Athlete of the Year -

Olivia Howell , Track & Field/Cross Country, Solon High School, Solon - Winner

Madi Nunez , Softball, Keystone High School, Lagrange

Ava Rauser , Volleyball, Rocky River High School, Rocky River

Male Collegiate Athlete of the Year -

Jairod James , Wrestling, University of Mount Union, Bedford

Dre’Mont Jones , Football, Ohio State University, Cleveland

University of Akron Men’s Soccer Team , Soccer, University of Akron, Akron - Winner

Female Collegiate Athlete of the Year -

Rachel Bender , Soccer, Baldwin-Wallace University, Jackson - Winner

Anna Brandt , Cross Country, Cleveland State University, Rocky River

Erin Gardner , Volleyball, Kent State University, Avon

Professional Athlete of the Year -

Corey Kluber, MLB, pitcher, Cleveland Indians

Baker Mayfield, NFL, quarterback, Cleveland Browns - Winner

Jose Ramirez, MLB, third-base, Cleveland Indians

Denzel Ward, NFL, corner-back, Cleveland Browns

Photos courtesy of The Greater Cleveland Sports Commission

Hear news updates at the top and bottom of the hour:  wtam.com/listen

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content